Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
The Key to Happily Ever After
2019
Availability
Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

  Publishers Weekly Review

Marcelo (West Coast Love) charms in this feel-good story about three Filipino sisters, the Alexandria, Va., bridal boutique they inherit from their parents, and their bumpy roads to happily-ever-after. Mari de la Rosa is the oldest at 32, and the most type-A of the bunch, immediately minting herself as CEO of Rings and Roses; Jane, 30, is an even-keeled single mother to a young son and takes charge of the shop's books; and 26-year-old Pearl is creative but incapable of showing up on time. The story toggles between Mari's point of view and Pearl's as Pearl asks for more responsibility and Mari is reluctant to comply. After Pearl brings in a coveted local bride, a wealthy socialite, she and Mari have a bitter fight about Mari's rigidity and Pearl's fly-by-the-seat-of-her-pants nature. The layered plot, which includes a dark period in Mari's past that places roadblock to finding love in the present, and the cast of colorful supporting characters, particularly sassy shop seamstress Amelia, are a treat. Fans of Jill Shalvis and Jane Green will particularly enjoy this. (May) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
Summary
One of BuzzFeed 's "Books Coming Out This Summer That You Need to Seriously Read" * One of Bustle 's "New Romance Novels to Make Your Spring Reading Even Dreamier Than You Imagined" <br> <br> A charming romantic comedy about three sisters who are struggling to keep the family wedding planning business afloat--all the while trying to write their own happily-ever-afters in the process. <br> <br> All's fair in love and business.<br> <br> The de la Rosa family and their wedding planning business have been creating happily ever afters in the Washington, DC area for years, making even the most difficult bride's day a fairytale. But when their parents announce their retirement, the sisters--Marisol, Janelyn, and Pearl--are determined to take over the business themselves.<br> <br> But the sisters quickly discover that the wedding business isn't all rings and roses. There are brides whose moods can change at the drop of a hat; grooms who want to control every part of the process; and couples who argue until their big day. As emotions run high, the de la Rosa sisters quickly realize one thing: even when disaster strikes--whether it's a wardrobe malfunction or a snowmageddon in the middle of a spring wedding--they'll always have each other.<br> <br> Perfect for fans of the witty and engaging novels of Amy E. Reichert and Susan Mallery, The Key to Happily Ever After is a fresh romantic comedy that celebrates the crucial and profound power of sisterhood.
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1