Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
Five Feet Apart
2018
Availability
Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

  Publishers Weekly Review

High school senior Stella Grant has cystic fibrosis and is tired of living a life in which "CF gets the final say." Stella is strong and goal-oriented-she manages her medications with an app she designed and uses YouTube Live to educate others about CF. Her to-do list is a mile long, but she's truly thrown off course when she meets artist Will Newman, another CF patient in a new drug trial at the hospital where they are both staying. Eight months earlier, he was diagnosed with B. cepacia, which knocked him off the lung transplant list and also means that he must stay several feet away from Stella or risk her health, even when they start falling for each other. She chastises him for not following his care plan; he trivializes her vigilant focus ("So is your plan to die really, really smart so you can join the debate team of the dead?"). Adapted from a screenplay, the novel uses alternating points of view to capture the teens' desires to explore and seek freedom. The characterizations are thinly fleshed out, but readers interested in The Fault in Our Stars-style tales may root for them and their budding romance. Ages 12-up. (Nov.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
Summary
Soon to be a major motion picture starring Cole Sprouse and Haley Lu Richardson in March 2019! <br> <br> In this moving story that's perfect for fans of John Green's The Fault in Our Stars , two teens fall in love with just one minor complication--they can't get within a few feet of each other without risking their lives. <br> <br> Can you love someone you can never touch? <br> <br> Stella Grant likes to be in control--even though her totally out of control lungs have sent her in and out of the hospital most of her life. At this point, what Stella needs to control most is keeping herself away from anyone or anything that might pass along an infection and jeopardize the possibility of a lung transplant. Six feet apart. No exceptions.<br> <br> The only thing Will Newman wants to be in control of is getting out of this hospital. He couldn't care less about his treatments, or a fancy new clinical drug trial. Soon, he'll turn eighteen and then he'll be able to unplug all these machines and actually go see the world, not just its hospitals.<br> <br> Will's exactly what Stella needs to stay away from. If he so much as breathes on Stella she could lose her spot on the transplant list. Either one of them could die. The only way to stay alive is to stay apart. But suddenly six feet doesn't feel like safety. It feels like punishment.<br> <br> What if they could steal back just a little bit of the space their broken lungs have stolen from them? Would five feet apart really be so dangerous if it stops their hearts from breaking too?
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1