Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
City of ghosts
2018
Availability
Fiction/Biography Profile
Characters
Cass (Female), Undead, Drowned; can now pull the Veil that separates the living from the dead; best friend is a ghost; parents start to host a show about haunted places
Genre
Horror
Fantasy
Adventure
Fiction
Juvenile
Topics
Supernatural beings
Undead
Search for truth
Ghosts
Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

  Publishers Weekly Review

Unbeknownst to her parents, who write books about ghosts but have never seen one, 12-year-old Cassidy Blake has paranormal abilities: ever since she almost drowned, she's been able to visit the spirit realm. She is best friends with Jacob, the apparition who saved her life, and whenever she encounters a phantom, she feels compelled to "cross the veil." Constant specter activity exhausts Cassidy, so she is dismayed to learn that her family is headed for Edinburgh to film a haunted cities television show. There, Cassidy meets Lara Jayne Chowdhury, a girl with similar skills. Jacob doesn't trust Lara, but Cassidy thinks the self-proclaimed ghost hunter could shed light on her own abilities and prove useful-particularly after they attract the attention of a malevolent specter. This atmospheric ghost story from Schwab (the Monsters of Verity duology) chills and charms while challenging readers to face their fears. Courageous, quick-witted Cassidy inspires, her relationship with Jacob is tender, and the thrilling conclusion is sure to gratify. Ages 8-12. Agent: Holly Root, Root Literary. (Aug.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
Summary
<p>From #1 NYT bestselling author Victoria Schwab comes a sweeping, spooky, evocative adventure, perfect for fans of "Stranger Things" and Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children.</p> <p>Ever since Cass almost drowned (okay, she did drown, but she doesn't like to think about it), she can pull back the Veil that separates the living from the dead . . . and enter the world of spirits. Her best friend is even a ghost.<br> <br> So things are already pretty strange. But they're about to get much stranger.<br> <br> When Cass's parents start hosting a TV show about the world's most haunted places, the family heads off to Edinburgh, Scotland. Here, graveyards, castles, and secret passageways teem with restless phantoms. And when Cass meets a girl who shares her "gift," she realizes how much she still has to learn about the Veil -- and herself.<br> <br> And she'll have to learn fast. The city of ghosts is more dangerous than she ever imagined.<br> <br> NYT bestselling author Victoria Schwab delivers a thrillingly spooky and action-packed tale of hauntings, history, mystery, and the bond between friends (even if that friend is a ghost . . .).</p>
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1