Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
Children of Blood and Bone
2018
Availability
Fiction/Biography Profile
Characters
Zelie Adebola (), King ordered magic destroyed; lost his mother; tries to bring back magic and strike the monarchy
Genre
Young adult
Fantasy
Fiction
Topics
Magic
Revenge
Kings
Royalty
Prejudice
Myths
Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

  Publishers Weekly Review

Turpin's bold reading of Adeyemi's Afro-futurist fantasy solidifies her reputation as one of the best voice actors working today. Since he took power 11 years earlier, King Saran has brutally suppressed the use of magic in the fictional African kingdom of Orïsha. When his 17-year-old daughter, Amari, is motivated by her father's violence to flee the palace and head for the unknown, she teams up with the embattled teen diviner Zélie to restore magic-and justice-to Zélie's people. Turpin is a star at voicing the novel's characters, but the contralto depth she employs for Zélie stands out-particularly during religious rituals, in which Zélie cries out to the gods for help in her quest. Turpin's sonorous incantation of prayers, as well as her brisk pacing during exciting moments of danger, will have listeners on the edge of their seats. Her depiction of the king's rage is also downright terrifying, as Turpin is unafraid to roar. Her hypnotic performance is one to be reckoned with. Ages 14-up. A Holt hardcover. (Mar.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
Summary
<p> Instant New York Times Bestseller <br> New York Times Notable Children's Books of 2018 <br> TIME Top 10 Best YA and Children's Books of 2018 <br> NPR 's Book Concierge 2018 Great Reads List <br> Bustle's Top 25 Best Young Adults Books of 2018 <br> 2018 Kirkus Prize Finalist <br> Paste Magazine's 30 Best YA Novels of 2018 <br> Newsweek's 61 Best Books from 2018 <br> Boston Globe's Best Children's Books of 2018 <br> Publishers Weekly Best YA Books of 2018 <br> School Library Journal Best Books of 2018 <br> <br> With five starred reviews, Tomi Adeyemi's West African-inspired fantasy debut, and instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir. </p> <p>They killed my mother.<br> They took our magic.<br> They tried to bury us.</p> <p>Now we rise.</p> <p>Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zélie's Reaper mother summoned forth souls.</p> <p>But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.</p> <p>Now Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.</p> <p>Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers and her growing feelings for an enemy.</p> <p>"A phenomenon." -- Entertainment Weekly </p> <p>"The epic I've been waiting for." -- New York Times -bestselling author Marie Lu </p> <p>"You will be changed. You will be ready to rise up and reclaim your own magic!" -- New York Times -bestselling author Dhonielle Clayton </p> <p>"The next big thing in literature and film." -- Ebony </p> <p>"One of the biggest young adult fiction debut book deals of theyear." -- Teen Vogue </p> <p>This title has Common Core connections.<br> <br> #1 New York Times bestseller , March 14, 2018 </p>
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1