Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
Children of Blood and Bone
2018
Availability
Fiction/Biography Profile
Characters
Zelie Adebola (), King ordered magic destroyed; lost his mother; tries to bring back magic and strike the monarchy
Genre
Young adult
Fantasy
Fiction
Topics
Magic
Revenge
Kings
Royalty
Prejudice
Myths
Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

  Publishers Weekly Review

Eleven years ago, King Saran cemented his grip on the throne by banishing magic from Orïsha and slaughtering the realm's maji-Zélie Adebola's mother included. The maji's descendants-dark-skinned, white-haired people called divîners-have lived under tyranny ever since, but now there is cause for hope. Thanks to information gleaned from Saran's kindhearted daughter, Amari, 17-year-old Zélie has a chance to restore magic to Orïsha and activate a new generation of maji. First, though, Zélie, Amari, and Zélie's brother Tzain must outrun the crown prince, Inan, who is determined to finish what his father started by eradicating magic for good. Book one in the Orïsha Legacy trilogy, Adeyemi's devastating debut is a brutal, beautiful tale of revolution, faith, and star-crossed love. By making tangible the power that comes from embracing one's heritage, Adeyemi conjures a story that resonates with magic both literal and figurative while condemning apathy in the face of injustice. Complex characters, colossal stakes, and a kaleidoscopic narrative captivate, and the book's punishing pace catapults readers to a jaw-dropping conclusion that poses as many questions as it answers. Ages 14-up. Agent: Alexandra Machinist and Hillary Jacobson, ICM. (Mar.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
Summary
<p> With five starred reviews, Tomi Adeyemi's West African-inspired fantasy debut, and instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir. </p> <p>They killed my mother.<br> They took our magic.<br> They tried to bury us.</p> <p>Now we rise.</p> <p>Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zélie's Reaper mother summoned forth souls.</p> <p>But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.</p> <p>Now Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.</p> <p>Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers and her growing feelings for an enemy.</p> <p>"A phenomenon." -- Entertainment Weekly </p> <p>"The epic I've been waiting for." -- New York Times -bestselling author Marie Lu </p> <p>"You will be changed. You will be ready to rise up and reclaim your own magic!" -- New York Times -bestselling author Dhonielle Clayton </p> <p>"The next big thing in literature and film." -- Ebony </p> <p>"One of the biggest young adult fiction debut book deals of theyear." -- Teen Vogue </p> <p>This title has Common Core connections.<br> <br> #1 New York Times bestseller , March 14, 2018 </p>
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1