Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
The Woman in the Window
2018
Availability
Fiction/Biography Profile
Characters
Anna Fox (Female), Agoraphobic, Recluse, Lives alone; believes she witnessed a crime in neighboring house
Genre
Fiction
Mystery
Psychological
Suspense
Thriller
Topics
Agoraphobia
Neighbors
Crime
Murder
Secrets
Setting
New York City, New York - Mid-Atlantic States (U.S.)
Time Period
2000s -- 21st century
Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

  Publishers Weekly Review

Child psychologist Anna Fox, the unreliable narrator of Finn's gripping first novel, lives out one of the classic films that she loves so well-Hitchcock's Rear Window. In this modern update, the agoraphobic Anna hasn't left her Manhattan townhouse in more than 11 months. When she's not observing the neighbors and photographing them with her digital camera, she's watching movies, playing chess, and counseling other agoraphobics via an online forum. Then her obsession with the new family across the park begins to take over. When Anna witnesses a stabbing in their house, no one believes what she saw is real-and it's entirely possible that Anna shouldn't believe it herself. The secrets of Anna's past and the uncertain present are revealed slowly in genuinely surprising twists. And, while the language is at times too clever for its own good, readers will eagerly turn the pages to see how it all turns out. This highly anticipated debut has already received endorsements from such notables as Gillian Flynn and Louise Penny. Agent: Jennifer Joel, ICM Partners. (Jan.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
Summary
<p>Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller!</p> <p>"Astounding. Thrilling. Amazing." --Gillian Flynn</p> <p>"Unputdownable." --Stephen King</p> <p>"A dark, twisty confection." --Ruth Ware</p> <p>"Absolutely gripping." --Louise Penny</p> <p>For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade's most anticipated debuts, to be published in thirty-six languages around the world and already in development as a major film from Fox: a twisty, powerful Hitchcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house.</p> <p>It isn't paranoia if it's really happening . . .</p> <p>Anna Fox lives alone--a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors.</p> <p>Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, a mother, their teenage son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn't, her world begins to crumble--and its shocking secrets are laid bare.</p> <p>What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this diabolically gripping thriller, no one--and nothing--is what it seems.</p> <p>Twisty and powerful, ingenious and moving, The Woman in the Window is a smart, sophisticated novel of psychological suspense that recalls the best of Hitchcock.</p>
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1