Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
Invisible Emmie
2017
Availability
Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

  Publishers Weekly Review

In her first children's book, cartoonist Libenson (The Pajama Diaries) offers strikingly different visions of seventh grade through two very dissimilar narrators. School is stressful for shy, quiet Emmie; Katie, meanwhile, is breezily popular, confident, and beautiful. With frizzy hair and hunched shoulders, Emmie shows up in tiny vignettes, sandwiched between blocks of text, that make her look as small and insignificant as she feels. Katie's chapters, by contrast, are big, splashy panels that reflect her outgoing personality ("I'm just your average teenage girl," she says after being offered movie roles and the crown of homecoming queen). Emmie and Katie share a crush on classmate Tyler, and when a sappy love note Emmie writes to Tyler as a joke is made public, Emmie is humiliated. Katie rises to her defense, but Emmie eventually learns to speak up for herself, realizing that embarrassment isn't the end of the world and being social isn't as impossible as she thought. A well-executed twist will have readers flipping back to see what they missed while cheering the strides made by Libenson's no-longer-invisible heroine. Ages 8-12. Agent: Daniel Lazar, Writers House. (May) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
Summary
<p>Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Jennifer L. Holm, Invisible Emmie is a humorous and surprising debut graphic novel by Terri Libenson, creator of the internationally syndicated, Reuben Award-winning comic strip The Pajama Diaries.</p> <p>This is the story of two totally different girls--<br> <br> quiet, shy, artistic Emmie<br> <br> popular, outgoing, athletic Katie<br> <br> --and how their lives unexpectedly intersect one day, when an embarrassing note falls into the wrong hands. . . .<br> <br> <br> <br> All the crushes, humiliations, boredom, and drama of middle school are compressed into one surprising day in this extraordinary novel.</p> And don't miss Terri Libenson's next book, Positively Izzy!
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1